top of page

2010

Infrared

The year is mainly devoted to the realization of Episode 2, including the updating of the theory and the integration of the funerary apartments imagined in 2003 by Jean-Pierre Houdin. Under the direction of Mehdi Tayoubi, an enormous amount of scientific 3D modelling and 3D animation in real time and in 3D is undertaken with Alain Dugousset and Pierre Gable and the entire Khufu Team, the same team who had already worked on "Khufu Revealed" in 2007. A new press conference at the Géode is scheduled for January 27, 2011 to present Episode 2, which has been called "Khufu Reborn".


At the beginning of March, the booklet "Khufu’s Pyramid Revealed ", written last year, is published in Cairo by Farid Atiya Press; it is translated into 6 languages and put on sale at the Cairo Museum store and at the Pyramids shop, thus helping to spread the theory to a large number of tourists.

 

On March 6, Mark Rose, editor of Archaeology Magazine's "Beyond Stone and Bone", writes an open letter to Dr. Hawass entitled "Time for the Great Pyramid?" For him, it is now time to authorize non-destructive research to confirm, or deny, the existence of the internal ramp. This is the first time an archaeological institution is openly committing itself to the theory. Unfortunately, this open letter will have no effect.

 

Khufu Revealed" wins award at Amiens Documentary Festival, March 23-27.

 

On May 2, Jean-Pierre Houdin travels to Cairo at the invitation of the Centre Français de Culture et de Coopération (CFCC) for a lecture followed by the screening of the documentary "Khufu Revealed". It is also the first time that a French institution has undertaken such a project, as the CFCC is linked to the Institut Français d'Archéologie Orientale (IFAO), which is at the origin of Egyptology. On site, and following an intuition he'd had while looking at an aerial photo taken in 1904 from a balloon by the photographer Edouard Spelterini, he investigates the Giza Plateau, summarizing his findings in a dossier entitled "Analyse critique du Plateau de Gizeh ". Part of this study shows that Khafre’s Monumental Causeway is built on a former ramp from the Khufu construction site, linking the port to the bottom of the external ramp of Khufu’s pyramid. This is supported by the presence, in the extension of its axis, of a very large void dug and then filled in the bedrock at its upper end (evidence visible today in the corridor leading to the burial chamber beneath Khafre’s pyramid), which would have served as a slide for a second counterweight. The problem of hoisting the granite beams and Turah limestone rafters of the structure above the King's Chamber is solved from the delivery port to the storage area at level +43m, the base of this chamber. The theory is the only one that can fully explain this sequence, which is the greatest challenge of the construction. An update of the counterweight system is included in the current Episode 2 project.

 

On June 17, Jean-Pierre Houdin travels to Boston and Harvard to meet Mehdi Tayoubi, who is preparing the GIZA 3D Project with Egyptologist Peter der Manuelian, director of the Giza Archives Project at the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA). This was created to manage and promote the thousands of documents and objects that the prestigious American Egyptologist Georges Reisner brought back from the excavations he undertook on the Giza Plateau between 1920 and 1940. This project, a 3D model of the Giza Plateau, is the result of his collaboration with Dassault Systèmes.

It is also an opportunity for him to "meet" Ankh-Af, the Vizier of the King's Great Works, who continued work on the Great Pyramid after Hemiunu's death.

On June 24, Jean-Pierre Houdin receives the Médaille d'Argent de l'Archéologie from the Académie d'Architecture for his work on Khufu’s Pyramid.

On July 22, lecture at the Colloque Ajaccio as part of the 4th Rencontres Science et Humanisme at Lazaret Ollandini.

 

On October 4, an educational conference is held at the Lycée Paul Langevin in Beauvais, in front of nearly 300 students. 

On October 8, conference at the Crillon Hotel in Paris for Directmedica as part of a sponsorship agreement with the ACGP.

In mid-October, following a contact established by Xavier Maldague, Director of the Chair at Université Laval in Quebec City, and a recognized specialist in the field of infrared thermography detection, Jean-Pierre Houdin travels to the University for an initial meeting. Following this visit, Dassault Systèmes invites the University to collaboration on the Khufu Project.

After some 40 monthly presentations over 3 years, and more than 10,000 spectators at the Géode, Jean-Pierre Houdin and the Khufu Team call a halt to "Khufu Revealed" in May. As for the school program, it comes to an end in the summer, with surprising results: over 2 years, some 30,000 boys and girls will have seen the construction of the pyramid thanks to an internal ramp.

Edouard Spelterini

Mathias Glad

bottom of page

2010

L'infrarouge

L’année est principalement consacrée à la réalisation d’Episode 2 comprenant la mise à jour de la théorie et l’intégration des appartements funéraires imaginés en 2003 par Jean-Pierre Houdin. Sous la direction de Mehdi Tayoubi, un énorme travail de modélisation 3D scientifique et 3D animation temps réel et relief est entrepris avec Alain Dugousset et Pierre Gable et toute l’Equipe Kheops, la même qui avait déjà travaillé sur « Kheops Révélé » en 2007. Une nouvelle conférence de presse à la Géode est programmée pour la 27 janvier 2011 pour la présentation d’Episode 2 qui est baptisé «  Kheops Renaissance ».


Début mars, le livret « La pyramide de Kheops Révélée », écrit l’an dernier est publié au Caire par Farid Atiya Press ; il est traduit en 6 langues et mis en vente à la boutique du Musée du Caire et à celle des Pyramides, participant ainsi à la diffusion de la théorie auprès de très nombreux touristes.

 

Le 6 mars, Mark Rose, rédacteur en chef du blog de la revue Archaeology Magazine, « Beyond Stone and Bone », écrit une lettre ouverte au Dr Hawass intitulée : « Time for the Great Pyramid? ». Pour lui, il est maintenant temps d’autoriser des recherches non-destructives pour confirmer, ou infirmer, l’existence de la rampe intérieure. C’est une première pour une institution archéologique de s’engager ouvertement au sujet de la théorie. Malheureusement, cette lettre ouverte n’aura aucun effet.

 

Le film « Kheops Révélé » est primé au Festival du Documentaire d’Amiens qui s’est tenu 23 au 27 mars.

 

Le 2 mai, Jean-Pierre Houdin se rend au Caire à l’invitation du Centre Français de Culture et de Coopération (CFCC) pour une conférence suivie de la projection du documentaire « Kheops Révélé ». C’est aussi la première fois qu’une institution française entreprend une telle démarche, le CFCC étant lié à l’Institut Français d’Archéologie Orientale (IFAO) qui est à l’origine de l’égyptologie. Sur place, et à la suite d’une intuition qu’il a eue en regardant une photo aérienne prise en 1904 depuis un ballon par le photographe Edouard Spelterini, il fait des investigations sur le Plateau de Gizeh qu’il résume dans un dossier intitulé : « Analyse critique du Plateau de Gizeh » en version anglaise: "Critical Analysis of the Giza Plateau". Une partie de cette étude démontre que la Chaussée Monumentale de Khephren a été construite sur une ancienne rampe du chantier Kheops reliant le port au bas de la rampe extérieure de la pyramide de Kheops ; celle-ci est confortée par la présence, dans le prolongement de son axe, d’un très important vide creusée puis comblé dans le socle rocheux à son extrémité haute, (indice visible aujourd’hui dans le couloir menant à la chambre funéraire sous la pyramide de Khephren), qui aurait servi de glissière pour un second contrepoids. Le problème du hissage des poutres de granit et les chevrons de calcaire de Tourah de la structure au-dessus de la Chambre du Roi est résolu depuis le port de livraison jusqu’à l’aire de stockage au niveau +43m, base de cette chambre. La théorie est la seule à pouvoir intégralement expliquer cette séquence du chantier qui est le plus grand challenge de la construction. Une mise à jour du système de contrepoids est intégrée dans le projet en cours Episode 2.

 

Le 17 juin, Jean-Pierre Houdin se rend à Boston et à Harvard pour retrouver Mehdi Tayoubi qui prépare le Projet GIZA 3D avec l’égyptologue Peter der Manuelian, directeur au Musée des Beaux-Arts (MFA) du Giza Archives Project. Celui-ci a été créé pour gérer et promouvoir les milliers de documents et objets que le prestigieux égyptologue américain Georges Reisner a ramené des fouilles qu’il a entreprises sur le Plateau de Gizeh dans les années 1920 à 1940. Ce projet, une modélisation 3D du Plateau de Gizeh, est une conséquence de sa collaboration avec Dassault Systèmes

C’est aussi l’occasion pour lui de « rencontrer » Ankh-Aef, le Vizir des Grands Travaux du Roi qui a continué le chantier de la Grande Pyramide après le décès d’Hemiounou.

Le 24 juin, Jean-Pierre Houdin reçoit la Médaille d’Argent de l’Archéologie de l’Académie d’Architecture pour ses travaux sur la pyramide de Kheops.

Le 22 juillet, conférence au Colloque Ajaccio dans le cadre des 4èmes Rencontres Science et Humanisme du Lazaret Ollandini.

 

Le 4 octobre, conférence éducative au lycée Paul Langevin de Beauvais devant près de 300 élèves.

Le 8 octobre conférence à l’hôtel Le Crillon à Paris pour la société Directmedica dans le cadre d’un mécénat avec l’ACGP.

A la mi-octobre, suite à un contact établit par le directeur de la chaire à l’Université Laval à Québec, Xavier Maldague, spécialiste reconnu dans le domaine de la détection par thermographie infrarouge, Jean-Pierre Houdin se rend sur place pour une première rencontre. Suite à cette visite, Dassault Systèmes propose à l’Université une collaboration sur le Projet Kheops.


Après une quarantaine de présentations mensuelles sur 3 années et plus de 10 000 spectateurs à la Géode, Jean-Pierre Houdin et l’Equipe Kheops arrêtent « Kheops Révélé » en mai; quant au programme scolaire, il s’arrête à l’été avec un bilan surprenant : sur 2 ans, environ 30 000 garçons et filles auront vu la construction de la pyramide grâce à une rampe intérieure.

Eduard Spelterini

Mathias Glad

© 2018 • ACGP - Association Construire la Grande Pyramide

Réalisation du site scriptoria-crea.com