top of page

2007

KHUFU Revealed

On March 30, an exceptional press conference is held at The Géode, attended by over 75 journalists from the press, radio and television, and hundreds of guests including the Egyptian Ambassador to Paris. After being opened by Bernard Charlès, CEO of Dassault Systèmes and Mehdi Tayoubi, project director, the 3D animation "Khufu Revealed" is projected in 3D, piloted in real time by Fabien Barati and commented live by Richard Breitner and Jean-Pierre Houdin. On the 400m2 screen, spectators wearing 3D glasses relive the construction site of Khufu’s Pyramid for over an hour, a technical world first.
The fallout from this press conference exceed all expectations, even the wildest: within 24 hours, the news spread around the world, with hundreds of newspapers picking up the story as they went to press, depending on the time zone. The 3 major French news channels, TF1, Fr2 and Fr3, report the news at 8pm or 1pm. The next morning, the major American network ABC covers the event in "Good Morning America". 3 days after the Géode, more than 500 newspapers and websites covered the event, with the subject on the front pages of Yahoo and Google for several hours. Mehdi Tayoubi's gamble paid off: overnight, the theory found itself at the forefront of the news and has now become the "standard" for pyramid construction.

On April 11, the Khufu Team (Richard Breitner, Emmanuel Guerriero, Jean-Pierre Houdin), the President of the Tourist Office and Dr. Hawass meet in Cairo for a very private diner organized by Essam El-Maghraby, director of the Egyptian Misr studios; a 3D presentation of "Khufu Revealed" is given, with individual headphones, and discussions focuse on the possibility of showing this 3D animation at the base of the pyramids as a prelude to a mission. Dr. Hawass invites the Team to return shortly to give a large-screen demonstration to the Supreme Council of Antiquities in the presence of "expert" Egyptologists.

 

At the end of April, the highly reputed American "Archaeology Magazine" publishes a very long article written by Dr. Bob Brier on the theory, with the subject on the cover.

 

On May 7, back in Cairo, the Khufu Team (Mehdi Tayoubi, Fabien Barati, Jean-Pierre Houdin) presents the 3D animation "Khufu Revealed" in the room of the Supreme Council of Antiquities; Dr. Hawass, Dr. Mark Lehner, Prof. Dr. Rainer Stadelmann and Dr. Alain Zivie are the only ones present for this demonstration. The Khufu Team will never have direct news following this meeting.

In mid-July, Dr Mourad M. Bakhoum, a graduate engineer from MIT (USA) and Cairo's Faculty of Engineering, and a fervent supporter of the theory, sends Jean-Pierre Houdin an article written by Dr Hawass and published in the Al-Ahram newspaper on July 7. He doesn’t follow up the project discussed 2 months earlier.

 

Public performances of "Khufu Revealed" follow one another at the Géode, attracting huge crowds.  The 3D animation is also presented in several cities, including La Rochelle on June 27 and Monaco on October 4. Reactions are always very positive.
In addition to the ongoing support of Dassault Systèmes, and following a year rich in media coverage, the ACGP also receives backing from several new patrons.

 

Regarding the theory, Jean-Pierre Houdin is now convinced that the pyramid's designers used a grid system to design the pyramid's plans and transmit instructions to the construction site. A primary grid of 20 cubits by 20 cubits for the volume itself, a secondary grid of 1 cubit by 1 cubit for all internal structures, which are grouped in a narrow band along the North/South axis.

bottom of page

2007

KHEOPS révélé

Le 30 mars, une conférence de presse exceptionnelle a lieu à la Géode devant plus de 75 journalistes de la presse écrite, de la radio et de la télévision, et des centaines d’invités dont l’Ambassadeur d’Egypte à Paris. Après avoir été ouverte par Bernard Charlès, Directeur Général de Dassault Systèmes et Mehdi Tayoubi, directeur du projet, l’animation 3D « Kheops Révélé » est projetée en relief, pilotée en temps réel par Fabien Barati et commentée en direct par Richard Breitner et Jean-Pierre Houdin. Sur l’écran de 400m2, les spectateurs munis de lunettes 3D revivent le chantier de construction de la pyramide de Kheops pendant plus d’une heure, une première mondiale au niveau technique.
Les retombées de cette conférence de presse dépassent toutes les attentes, même les plus folles : dans les 24 heures, la nouvelle a fait le tour du monde, des centaines de journaux prenant le relais au fur et à mesure de leur parution en fonction des décalages horaires. Les 3 grands journaux télévisés français, TF1, Fr2 et Fr3, en parlent au 20h ou au 13h. Le lendemain matin, la grande chaîne américaine ABC couvre l’événement dans « Good Morning America ». 3 jours après la Géode, plus de 500 journaux papier ou Internet en ont parlé, le sujet étant à la une de Yahoo et Google pendant quelques heures. Mehdi Tayoubi a gagné son pari : la théorie s’est retrouvée du jour au lendemain au premier plan de l’actualité et est maintenant devenu le « standard » en ce qui concerne la construction des pyramides.


Le 11 avril, un dîner très privé organisé par Essam El-Maghraby, directeur des studios Egyptien Misr, a lieu au Caire entre l’Equipe Kheops (Richard Breitner, Emmanuel Guerriero, Jean-Pierre Houdin), le Président de l’Office du Tourisme et  le Dr Hawass; une présentation 3D avec casque individuel de « Kheops Révélé » est faite et les discussions portent sur une représentation de cette animation 3D aux pieds des pyramides en prélude à une mission. Le Dr Hawass invite l’Equipe à revenir rapidement faire une démonstration sur grand écran au Conseil Suprême des Antiquités en présence d’égyptologues « experts ».

 

Fin avril, le très réputé magazine d’archéologie américain « Archaeology Magazine » publie un très long article écrit par le Dr Bob Brier sur la théorie, le sujet étant en couverture.

 

Le 7 mai, de retour au Caire, l’Equipe Kheops (Mehdi Tayoubi, Fabien Barati, Jean-Pierre Houdin) présente l’animation 3D « Kheops Révélé » dans la salle du Conseil Suprême des Antiquités ; le Dr Hawass, le Dr Mark Lehner, le Pr Dr Rainer Stadelmann et le Dr Alain Zivie sont les seuls présents pour cette démonstration. L’Equipe Kheops n’aura pas de nouvelles directes suite à cette réunion.

A la mi-juillet, le Dr Mourad M. Bakhoum, ingénieur diplômé du MIT (USA) et de la Faculté des Ingénieurs du Caire, et fervent soutien de la théorie, adresse à Jean-Pierre Houdin un article écrit par le Dr Hawass publié le 7 juillet dans le journal Al-Ahram. Il ne donne pas suite au projet discuté 2 mois plus tôt.

 

Les représentations publiques de « Kheops Révélé » se succèdent à la Géode, attirant de très nombreux spectateurs.  L’animation 3D est aussi présentée dans plusieurs villes dont La Rochelle, le 27 juin, et Monaco, le 4 octobre. Les réactions sont toujours très positives.
En plus du soutien constant de Dassault Systèmes et suite à cette année riche en médiatisation, l’ACGP reçoit également un soutien de plusieurs nouveaux mécènes.

 

Au niveau de la théorie, Jean-Pierre Houdin est maintenant convaincu que les concepteurs de la pyramide utilisaient un système de grilles pour concevoir les plans de la pyramide et transmettre les instructions sur le chantier. Une grille primaire de 20 coudées par 20 coudées pour le volume lui-même, une secondaire de 1 coudée par 1 coudée pour tous les ouvrages intérieurs qui sont regroupés dans une bande étroite le long de l’axe Nord/Sud.

© 2018 • ACGP - Association Construire la Grande Pyramide

Réalisation du site scriptoria-crea.com