top of page

2005

The mission – 1st attempt

Jean-Pierre Houdin makes several trips to Cairo to study the pyramid sites, advance the mission project and seek local sponsors; thanks to the Mission Economique Française and the Club d'Affaires Franco-Egyptien (CAFE), he convinces several French and Egyptian companies to become ACGP sponsors. Funding for the mission is well underway. CAFE later publishes a lengthy article on the theory, in Arabic and French, in its magazine L'Antenne.


On January 12, Jean-Pierre Houdin gives a lecture at the Ecole Centrale de Nantes.

 

On April 4, Jean-Pierre Houdin meets Prof. Dr. Rainer Stadelmann, a renowned Egyptologist and former director of the German Institute of Archaeology in Cairo, who also agrees to act as advisor to the future mission; it is now supported by the 2 Egyptologists specializing in the pyramids. The following day, a meeting is held with Dr Magdy El Ghandour, Director of Foreign Missions at the Supreme Council of Antiquities, to clarify the administrative arrangements for the future mission.

 

On April 18, at the invitation of Dr Pierre Grussenmeyer, founding member of the ACGP, Jean-Pierre Houdin gives a lecture at INSA Strasbourg, scientific partner of the mission in preparation (Photogrammetry).

On May 3, a conference at the Société des Ingénieurs des Arts et Métiers with Henri Houdin, Hubert Labonne, Jean Carayon, Gérard Ledieu and Jean-Louis Simonneau, all Gad'zarts, has an extraordinary consequence for theory and the ACGP: another Gad'zart present in the room, Jean-Jacques Urban-Galindo, discreetly contacts Dassault Systèmes, publisher of 3D software, to recommend a meeting with Jean-Pierre Houdin.

 

On June 21, Jean-Pierre Houdin receives a call in Cairo from Richard Breitner, an engineer from Dassault Systèmes, and an appointment is planned at the company's headquarters for June 30. On that day, the basis for collaboration is discussed with Mehdi Tayoubi, director of the "Passion for Innovation" program, and Richard Breitner.

 

In September, the EIFFEL company offers to the ACGP a magnificent brochure presenting the Khufu Project, based on a model designed and produced free of charge by the artist Raphaël Thierry. This one is unanimously admired by those who receive it, patrons and partners of the future mission in particular.

After more than 8 months of preparation, the final mission file is almost ready to be handed over to the Egyptian authorities when, on June 25, Prof. Dr. Rainer Stadelmann informs Jean-Pierre Houdin that his participation as advisor to the mission had not been approved by the Secretary General of Antiquities. A few days later, it is Dr Dieter Arnold's turn not to be approved. The mission is de facto postponed until other consultant Egyptologists could be found. Invited by Jean-Pierre Houdin to lead the mission himself, Dr. Hawass declines.

A few months later, however, he agrees to write a foreword for a book Jean-Pierre Houdin is working on, to be published in Egypt by Farid Atiya Press in 2006. 


In November and January 2006 in Cairo, videographer Bulle Plexiglass films some astonishing scenes on a construction  site in the city center: the creation of 2 sandbag massifs designed to test the strength of the soil before building posts; these are built "from the inside", with an internal ramp for one of them. A technique that seems ancestral.

bottom of page

2005

La mission - 1er essai

Jean-Pierre Houdin fait plusieurs séjours au Caire pour étudier les sites des pyramides, faire avancer le projet de mission et rechercher des mécènes sur place ; grâce à la Mission Economique Française et au Club d’Affaires Franco-Egyptien (CAFE), il convainc plusieurs entreprises, françaises et égyptiennes, de devenir mécènes de l’ACGP. Le financement de la mission est en très bonne voie. Le CAFE publiera plus tard un très long article sur la théorie, en arabe et en français, dans sa revue L’Antenne.


Le 12 janvier, Jean-Pierre Houdin donne une conférence à l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes.

 

Le 4 avril, Jean-Pierre Houdin rencontre le Pr Dr Rainer Stadelmann, égyptologue renommé et ancien directeur de l’Institut Allemand d’Archéologie du Caire, qui accepte aussi d’être conseiller de la future mission ; elle est maintenant soutenue par les 2 égyptologues spécialistes des pyramides. Le lendemain une réunion a lieu avec le Dr Magdy El Ghandour, directeur des missions étrangères au Conseil Suprême des Antiquités pour préciser les modalités administratives liées à la future mission.

 

Le 18 avril, à l’invitation du Dr Pierre Grussenmeyer, membre fondateur de l’ACGP, conférence de Jean-Pierre Houdin à l’INSA Strasbourg, partenaire scientifique de la mission en préparation (Photogrammétrie)

Le 3 mai, conférence à la Société des Ingénieurs des Arts et Métiers grâce à Henri Houdin, Hubert Labonne, Jean Carayon, Gérard Ledieu et Jean-Louis Simonneau, tous  Gad’zarts; celle-ci aura une conséquence extraordinaire pour la théorie et l’ACGP : un autre Gad’zart présent dans la salle, Jean-Jacques Urban-Galindo, prend discrètement contact avec la société Dassault Systèmes, éditeur de logiciels 3D, pour lui recommander une entrevue avec Jean-Pierre Houdin.

 

Le 21 juin, Jean-Pierre Houdin reçoit au Caire un appel de M. Richard Breitner, ingénieur  de  Dassault Systèmes et un rendez-vous est pris au siège de cette société pour le 30 juin ; ce jour-là, les bases d’une collaboration sont discutées avec Mehdi Tayoubi, directeur du programme « Passion for Innovation », et Richard Breitner.

 

En septembre, la société EIFFEL offre à l’ACGP une magnifique plaquette de présentation du Projet Kheops sur une maquette conçue et réalisée gratuitement par l’artiste Raphaël Thierry. Elle est unanimement admirée par ceux qui la reçoivent, mécènes et partenaires de la future mission en particulier.

Après plus de 8 mois de préparation, le dossier définitif de la mission est pratiquement prêt à être remis aux autorités Egyptiennes quand, le 25 juin, le Pr Dr Rainer Stadelmann informe Jean-Pierre Houdin que sa participation en qualité de conseil de la mission n’a pas été agréée par le Secrétaire Général des Antiquités. Quelques jours après, c’est au tour du Dr Dieter Arnold de ne pas être agréé. La mission est de facto retardée dans l’attente de trouver d’autres égyptologues conseils. Invité par Jean-Pierre Houdin à prendre lui-même la direction de la mission, le Dr Hawass décline l’invitation.

Par contre, quelques mois plus tard, il accepte d’écrire une préface pour un livre que Jean-Pierre Houdin prépare et qui sera publié en Egypte par les éditions Farid Atiya Press en 2006.


En novembre puis en janvier 2006, au Caire, la vidéaste Bulle Plexiglass filme des scènes étonnantes sur un chantier de construction en plein centre-ville : la réalisation de 2 massifs en sacs de sable destinés à tester la résistance du sol avant la construction de poteaux ; ceux-ci sont construits « de l’intérieur », avec une rampe intérieure pour l’un d’eux. Une technique qui semble ancestrale.

© 2018 • ACGP - Association Construire la Grande Pyramide

Réalisation du site scriptoria-crea.com