top of page

2004

Grenoble: international congress of Egyptologists

In the spring, thanks to the intervention of François Levieux, Chairman of the Scientific Committee, the Thalès company, a leading radar specialist, decides to support the ACGP; in preparation for the future mission, a radar measurement campaign is carried out on the limestone walls of the Coucy-le-Château and Pierrefonds castles.
The first patrons join the project, thanks in particular to Jacques Huillard and Marc Buonomo.


In April, Henri Houdin imagines that the sleds' rotations in the edges took place in "rotation rooms" rather than in notches open to the outside. With no evidence to support this hypothesis, this solution is shelved; it would be another 4 years before this idea is finally incorporated into the theory.

 

On June 8, Dr Bob Brier and Jean-Pierre Houdin meet Dr Dieter Arnold, renowned Egyptologist and Director of the Department of Egyptian Antiquities at New York's Metropolitan Museum. Dr. Arnold is very positive about the theory and points out that the Solar Temple of Niuserre at Abu Ghorab shows the remains of a similar internal ramp.


On September 12, the first day of the 9th International Congress of Egyptologists, Jean-Pierre Houdin gives an official talk on the subject of the internal ramp, followed by a public lecture on the same theme; a new 3D model is produced for the occasion. This is the first time the theory is presented in an Egyptological and scientific context. Thanks to Prof. Hany Helal, Jean-Pierre Houdin meets Dr. Zahi Hawass, Secretary General of the Egyptian Supreme Council of Antiquities.

From September 29 to October 8, Jean-Pierre Houdin makes his first visit to Egypt. He finally discovers the pyramids he has been working on for 5 years. He meets Dr. Hawass at the Supreme Council of Antiquities and informs him of the ACGP's plan to carry out, in collaboration with Cairo's Faculty of Engineering, a mission on Khufu’s Pyramid using non-destructive techniques. Dr. Hawass imposes at least one renowned Egyptologist on the mission. At a meeting in Dahshur, Dr. Dieter Arnold gives his approval to Jean-Pierre Houdin.

Abou Ghorab Ludwig Borchardt

bottom of page

2004

Grenoble : congrès international des égyptologues

Au printemps, et grâce à l’intervention de François Levieux, Président du Comité Scientifique, la société Thalès, grand spécialiste des radars, décide d’apporter son soutien à l’ACGP ; en vue de la future mission une campagne de mesures radar est réalisée sur des murs en calcaire des châteaux de Coucy-le Château et de Pierrefonds.
Les premiers mécènes commencent à rejoindre le projet grâce, en particulier, à Jacques Huillard et Marc Buonomo.


En avril, Henri Houdin imagine que les rotations des traîneaux dans les arêtes se déroulaient dans des « pièces de rotation » plutôt que dans des encoches ouvertes sur l’extérieur. Sans indices permettant d’accréditer cette hypothèse, cette solution est mise de côté ; il faudra encore attendre 4 années avant  de finalement intégrer cette idée dans la théorie.

 

Le 8 juin, le Dr Bob Brier et Jean-Pierre Houdin rencontre le Dr Dieter Arnold, égyptologue renommé et directeur du département des Antiquités Egyptiennes au Metropolitan Museum de New-York. Le Dr Arnold est très positif au sujet de la théorie et fait remarquer que le Temple Solaire de Niuserre à Abou Ghorab présente les vestiges d’une rampe intérieure similaire.

Le 6 septembre, au premier jour du 9ème Congrès International des Egyptologues (Grenoble), Jean-Pierre Houdin fait une communication officielle au sujet de la rampe intérieure puis une conférence publique sur le même thème ; une nouvelle modélisation 3D est réalisée à cette occasion. C’est la première fois que la théorie est présentée dans un cadre égyptologique et scientifique. Grâce au Pr Hany Helal, Jean-Pierre Houdin rencontre le Dr Zahi Hawass, Secrétaire Général du Conseil Suprême des Antiquités Egyptiennes.

Du 29 septembre au 8 octobre Jean-Pierre Houdin effectue son premier séjour en Egypte. Il découvre enfin les pyramides sur lesquelles il travaille depuis 5 ans. Il rencontre le Dr Hawass au Conseil Suprême des Antiquités et l’informe du projet de l’ACGP d’effectuer, en collaboration avec la Faculté des Ingénieurs du Caire, une mission sur la pyramide de Kheops au moyen de techniques non-destructives. Le Dr Hawass impose au moins un égyptologue de renom dans la mission. Lors d’une rencontre à Dahchour, le Dr Dieter Arnold donne son accord à Jean-Pierre Houdin.

Abou Ghorab Ludwig Borchardt

© 2018 • ACGP - Association Construire la Grande Pyramide

Réalisation du site scriptoria-crea.com